Five candidates register for Ondangwa Urban Constituency by-election

11 May 2019 12:50pm
ONGWEDIVA, 11 MAY (NAMPA) – Five candidates have registered with the Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) for the Ondangwa Urban Constituency by-election scheduled for 15 June.
ECN Returning Officer Rauna Nkandi told Nampa on Friday these include independent candidate Angeline Immanuel; Leonard Negonga (Swapo); Asser Vincent (All People’s Party); Mandume Andreas (Congress of Democrats) and Johannes Martin (Popular Democratic Movement).
The by-election was necesitated by the appointment of the former Oshana regional councillor for the constituency, Elia Irimari, as the governor of Oshana in March this year.
Irimari replaced Clemens Kashuupulwa, who was appointed as Namibia’s ambassador to Russia last year.
The registration of candidates for the Ondangwa Urban Constituency by-election started on 19 April and ended at 11h00 on Monday.
A member of the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) national leadership, Eino Heelu told this news agency on Friday although his party wanted to participate, it could not get the personal documents of its chosen candidate organised on time.
Swapo will launch its election campaign at SOS Omashaka in Ondangwa on Saturday, with Prime Minister and member of the Swapo central committee and politburo, Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila to officiate.