NN calls up players for training camp

11 Oct 2018 15:00pm
WINDHOEK, 11 OCT (NAMPA) – Netball Namibia has called up a squad of 28 players to attend a three-day training camp in Windhoek from 19 to 21 October 2018.
The purpose of the training camp is for NN to select a team that will represent Namibia at the Diamond Challenge Test Series that will be held in Polokwane, South Africa from 26 November to 02 December 2018.
The tournament is aimed at promoting netball in Africa, with hope of improved performances at the 2019 World Cup that will be held in Liverpool, England. The participating countries are South Africa, Zimbabwe, Botswana and Namibia.
The first time a competition of this nature was held in South Africa was in 2012 where three Africa countries were invited to participate.
Rebekka /Goagoses, Netball Namibia vice-president, told Nampa on Thursday that NN has informed all the regions about this competition and they are now looking forward to seeing all the selected players attending the training camp.
/Goagoses, who is also responsible for marketing, sponsorship, public relations and competitions at Netball Namibia, said this competition is important to them, as it will give more players a chance to represent their country while at the same time improving Namibia’s ranking.
“We said yes to our neighbours on competing at this championship even though we do not have funds. We hope we can get transportation from the government and other sponsors who can help in making this trip a success,” she said.
The new players that have been called up are; Jessica Nandova, Rose Kotjipati and Ghola Uaongora (Otjozondjupa), Lynette Kozosi (Oshikoto), Selma Shikukumwa (Kavango West), Joanitha Kauure, Evarisa Haufiku (Erongo), Theresia Hausiku and Kaviao Marenga (Omaheke), Diana George (Omusati), Jessica Kuzatjike, Chaa Kavari, Anna Shipanga, Teveni Shirleen, Globine Majowa (Khomas).
These players will join the current players who represented the national team in Zambia and at the Debmarine Pent Series earlier this year.
Glynetthe Kazonganga, Cherlyn Muesee, Melissa Neis, Imbileni Frans, Diana Tjejamba, Uehengisa Tjozongoro, Selma Bittler, Anna Kaspar, Catheline Tjihero, Vendjihonga Katjaimo, Pupe Kandovazu, Uzuvira Uatjiua and Louise Kaheseua make up the remainder of the training camp squad.