Oshana Swapo regional conference eliminates serving coordinator

18 Jun 2017 17:40pm
ONGWEDIVA, 18 JUN (NAMPA) – The Swapo coordinator in the Oshana Region, Erastus Kapolo has lost his position to Samuel Nelongo, who was the party’s Uukwuyuushona district coordinator.
This followed the Swapo elective conference for the Oshana Region held at Oshakati on Saturday.
The party’s regional mobiliser, Magdalena Hango confirmed this to Nampa in a telephonic interview on Sunday.
Nelongo defeated Kapolo with 50 to 34 votes, while the third contestant for the coordinator position and former mayor of Oshakati, Onesmus Shilunga obtained just two votes.
Malakia Petrus retained his position as treasurer in the region, defeating the chairperson of the Oshakati Town Council’s management committee, Gabriel Teddy Kamwanka Eelu, who challenged him at the same conference, with 77 votes to only nine votes.
The conference also elected four candidates who will contest for seats in the Swapo central committee during the party’s national congress to be held in Windhoek from 23 to 26 November this year.
These are former Deputy Minister of Works and Transport, Paulus Kapia, former Mayor of Ondangwa, Leonard Negonga, Ondangwa businesswoman, Fenny Nanyeni and Frieda Akwaake from the Okaku Constituency.
Hango, as the serving regional mobiliser, retained her position unopposed due to the fact that her term of office is still valid.
She was elected in that position in July last year. Hango is also elected along with Petrus, David Akweenda, Ismael Uugwanga, Twiihendi Israel, Martha Eelu, Sylvia Shuumbwa and Delila Shivute as Oshana delegates to the national congress in November.
Hango said it was a free and fair election.
“John Kandombo chaired our elective session, while the chairperson of the national leaders assigned to our region, Sophia Shaningwa, Poverty Eradication Deputy Minister, Aina Kapewangolo, and the Oshana regional governor, Clemens Kashuupulwa, were observers,” said Hango.