The National Broadcasting Corporation (NBC)

December 4, 2014, 12:39pm

The National Broadcasting Corporation (NBC)

About the NBC

The Namibian Broadcasting Corporation (NBC) is the public broadcaster of Namibia. It was established in 1990. The affairs of the NBC are supervised and controlled by the NBC Board of Directors. This board is appointed by the Minister of Information and Communication Technology for a period of five years.


The NBC operates one 24-hour radio station in English (NBC National Radio) and nine language-services that broadcast between 10 and 15 hours per day in Afrikaans, Damara and Nama, German, Oshiwambo (Ovambo and Kwanyama), Otjiherero, Rukavango, Setswana, Silozi and !Ha


The NBC currently operates three television channels (NBC 1, 2 and 3, respectively), primarily in English, but with some programming in German and indigenous languages. NBC 1 is also available on the DStv satellite television platform. NBC 2 and 3, however, can only be accessed by the aerial television network through proprietary decoders currently being sold throughout Namibia.

The head office of the NBC is situated in Cullinan Street, Northern Industrial, Windhoek. The head office in Windhoek houses mainly the staff members of the following departments and sections: Human Capital & Organizational Development; TV Programs; News & Current Affairs; Engineering & IT; Finance & Administration; Marketing & Corporate Communications; Commercial Services; Project Planning , as well as the office of the Director General.
The NBC Radio building is located in Pettenkofer Street, Windhoek West. This building contains the offices and studios of six NBC Radio Language Services, namely Afrikaans Service, Damara/Nama Service, German Service, National Radio, Otjiherero Service and Tirelo Ya Setswana, as well as the Windhoek based representatives of the regional stations (except !Ha Radio). Four NBC Radio Language Services are situated in the regions, namely !Ha Radio in Tsumkwe, Lozi Service in Katima Mulilo, Oshiwambo Service in Oshakati and Rukavango Service in Rundu. The regional stations are also equipped with staff from NBC Engineering & IT and NBC News & Current Affairs.

The NBC furthermore has three Contribution Centres, namely in Otjiwarongo, Walvis Bay and Keetmanshoop. The Contribution Centres are smaller in size than the regional stations and house fewer employees.
NBC TV currently broadcasts on a 24 hour basis, as does NBC National Radio.
The other NBC Radio Language Services broadcast as follows:
Damara/Nama Service: Mondays to Fridays from 05:50 to 24:00; Saturdays and Sundays from 05:50 to 21:00.
!Ha Radio: daily from 06:00 to 21:00.
Oshiwambo Service: Mondays to Fridays from 05:50 to 24:00; Sundays and Saturdays from 05:50 to 21:00.
Lozi Service: Mondays to Fridays from 06:00 to 24:00; Saturdays and Sundays from 06:00 to 21:00.
Tirelo Ya Setswana: Mondays to Fridays: 06:00 to 24:00; Saturdays from 06:00 to 22:00 and Sundays from 06:00 to 21:00.
Afrikaans Service: Mondays to Sundays from 06:00 – 21:00 (live); Fridays & Saturdays all-night music from 21:00 to 06:00 the next morning (automat).
German Service: Mondays to Fridays from 05:55 to 21:00; Saturdays & Sundays from 06:00 to 21:00.
Otjiherero Service: Mondays to Fridays from 06:00 to 24:00; Saturdays and Sundays from 06:00 to 21:00.
Rukavango Service: Mondays to Fridays from 06:00 to 24:00; Saturdays and Sundays from 06:00 to 21:00.
The NBC maintains over 50 transmitter stations throughout Namibia which in turn house over 260 transmitters. Approximately 94% of the Namibian population is reached via NBC Radio and 64% of the population has access to NBC TV.