Fifteenth Omaruru Spar Cycle Challenge a success

10 Feb 2014 19:00pm
OMARURU, 10 FEB (NAMPA) – Fewer participants entered for the Omaruru Spar Cycle Challenge this year, but the event was nonetheless successful as the standard of the participants was as high as in previous years.
The organiser of the 15th Omaruru Spar Cycle Challenge, Bethold Karumendu from the Ministry of Youth, National Service, Sport and Culture’s Directorate of Sports, told Nampa after the event on Sunday although the interest was there, they did not get the amount of entries they had hoped for. Last year 320 athletes entered, while this year around 280 athletes entered.
“The standard of the race was good according to the riders’ performance. One can see the talent is there,” he said.
Martin Freyer won the 2014 Omaruru Spar Cycle Challenge, with Michael Pretorius ending second and Tjipe Murangi in third in the 106 kilometre race.
First National Bank (FNB)’s Omaruru branch was one of the co-sponsors with an amount of N.dollars 10 000.
FNB Manager Fritz Horaeb and his team manned the water-points on the B33 route between Omaruru and Kalkfeld. Talking to this news agency about the bank’s role in Omaruru’s sporting activities, he said the bank sponsors events where sporting groups are involved.
“Since this is my first year as the manager of the branch I was very excited to be part of the Spar Cycle Challenge, and you will see an FNB team taking part in next year's event,” Horaeb noted. Omaruru Spar was the main sponsor of the event, availing N.dollars 45 000.
Omaruru Spar manager Bobby Griebel told reporters during the launch earlier this month their dream is to continue being the main sponsors of the event in future. Griebel commended the Ministry of Youth, National Service, Sport and Culture for the roll they played in arranging for athletes from Windhoek, Oshakati, Swakopmund and Walvis Bay to attend the event. Griebel also took part in the 60 kilometre (km) in the veteran men’s category.
“It was very tough and the same distance (60 km) took me about 12 minutes longer this year due to the windy conditions,” he said.
The results are as follows:

106km (men)
1. Martin Freyer - 2:38:22
2. Michael Pretorius - 2:38:23
3. Tjipe Murangi - 2:38:23

106km (women)
1. Irene Steyn - 2:45:53
2. Wanda Tattersall - 3:01:52
3. Lerike Burger - 3:05:29

60km (men)
1. Norbert Meyer - 1:41:54
2. Israel Alfred - 1:41:54
3. Markus Shinyemba - 1:49:14

60km (women)
1. Tertia van Zyl - 1:54:32
2. Mandy Huysamen - 1:54:34
3. Sigi Bassingthwaighte - 2:00:14

106km (veteran men)
1. Nick du Plessis - 2:38:28
2. Eugene Spangenberg - 2:45:45
3. Christopher du Plessis - 2:50:08

106km (master men)
1. David Birch - 2:45:28
2. Andre Huysamen - 2:50:07
3. Gerhard Mans (Snr) - 2:50:08

60km (junior men)
1. Martin Sheya - 1:58:28
2. Paulus Sheya - 2:16:04
3. Wallace Renton - 2:37:25

60km (junior women)
1. Charlise Vermaak - 2:17:45
2. Sophia Simon - 2:38:08