Ipinge re-elected as chairperson of management Committee

04 Jun 2013 10:00
OTJIWARONGO, 04 JUN (NAMPA) - Otjiwarongo Constituency councillor Otto Ipinge was re-elected as chairperson of the Otjozondjupa Regional Council?s Management Committee on Tuesday.
The election took place during the Otjozondjupa Regional Council?s second-phase election process and swearing-in exercise of councillors at the Otjiwarongo Municipal Chambers.
Ipinge has been chairperson of that body since 2010, and will lead it until 2015.
He was nominated by Otavi Constituency councillor Ndapewa Nambili, and seconded by Omatako Constituency councillor Issaskar Kaujeua.
Two other councillors - Steve Biko Boois from the Okahandja Constituency and Tsumkwe Constituency councillor Francina Hishekwa-Ghauz - were also re-elected to serve as ordinary members of the management committee.
The regional councillors also re-elected Kaujeua and Nambili to represent the region in the National Council.
In an interview with Nampa on Tuesday, Ipinge said during his second term as chairperson of the Otjozondjupa Regional Council, he will see to it that poverty in the region is reduced drastically.
?For instance, we have already started with the establishment of the Otjiwarongo Community Trust Fund, which is specifically aimed at poverty reduction amongst our people,? he stated.
Ipinge noted that this Trust Fund would be used to assist children whose parents cannot pay for their tuition fees at tertiary institutions, while also assisting Otjozondjupa residents affected by fires and other disasters in the region.
Furthermore, several State clinics and Combined schools are already planned for and approved to commence in the Tsaraxa-Aibes informal settlement in the Otjiwarongo Constituency, he added.