Grootfontein by-election: Swapo Party wins

31 May 2013 01:50
GROOTFONTEIN, 31 MAY (NAMPA) - Swapo-Party candidate, Nelao Amagulu, has won the Grootfontein Constituency by-election with 2 412 votes.
Voting took place on Thursday and the counting process started immediately at 21h00 that same day, going on until around 03h00 Friday morning.
Amagulu was declared the victor with an overwhelming number of votes.
Her closest challenger, Sedekias Naobeb of the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) received 635 votes.
All People's Party (APP)?s Hamutenya Hausiku claimed 145 votes, followed by the National Unity Democratic Organisation (Nudo)?s Priska Kahuure with 117 votes.
The DTA of Namibia?s Julenda Willemse obtained 107 votes and Swanu of Namibia?s candidate Theo-Nesta Katjinamunene walked away with 78 votes.
A total of 16 993 people registered to vote, but only 4 039 people actually voted with 550 ballot papers rejected or spoiled.
There were 25 polling stations - eight fixed points and 17 mobile polling stations - and about 141 polling officials working on this election.
The Grootfontein Constituency by-election became necessary following the death of Swapo-Party Regional Councillor Bromeus Matheus in March this year.