Namibia commited to sustainable ocean economy: Geingob

24 Sep 2019 12:20pm
WINDH0EK 24 SEP (NAMPA) - President Hage Geingob on Monday announced Namibia’s commitment to ensuring at least 10 per cent of the country’s exclusive economic zone is gazetted as a marine protected area by 2020.
Speaking at the United Nations' High Level Panel for Sustainable Ocean Economy in New York, United States of America, the President said Namibia’s entire coastal belt is gazetted as national parks.
He said these include three coastal Ramser sites, namely the Orange River Mouth, Sandwich Harbour and Walvis Bay Lagoon.
He further said, Namibia’s marine waters less than 200 metres deep are protected from most commercial fishing activities as they are breeding grounds for fish.
The panel brings together world leaders who recognize that economic production and ocean protection must be mutually supported by all UN member states and was an initiative of serving heads of government committed to catalysing bold, pragmatic solutions for ocean health and wealth that support the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals.
In this regard, Geingob announced that Namibia is committed to generating approximately 144 megawatts of additional wind power (clean energy) at Lüderitz by the year 2022.
The president said Namibia is in the final stages of ratifying the convention on the prevention of pollution from ships, which includes a 50 per cent reduction in greenhouse gas emissions from ships by 2050; which is in line with the Convention of the International Maritime Organizations agreement.
In his concluding remarks, Geingob said Namibia has committed N.dollars 74 million towards ocean research and protection during the 2019/2020 financial year.
This amount includes N. dollars 34 million to facilitate research on fisheries stocks and marine ecosystems.
He urged the other members of the panel to continue supporting a sustainable ocean economy because the survival of humanity depends on the members’ collective ability to take urgent action in order to sustain the world’s oceans.
The participating countries, who are members of the panel, include Australia, Chile, Fiji, Ghana, Indonesia, Jamaica, Japan, Mexico, Norway, Palau and Portugal