Sioka names new SSC commissioners

22 Jan 2014 13:00


Minister of Labour and Social Welfare, Doreen Sioka, today introduced the new Social Security Commission (SSC) commissioners at an event held at Daan Viljoen, outside Windhoek.

The new members replace the old ones who were discharged from their duties by the appointing minister, Sioka, on 1 November 2013, in accordance with Section 6(2) of the Social Security Act, 1994 (Act No. 34 of 1994) and Article 40(5) of the Namibian constitution.

“I took action to remove eight members of the previous Social Security Commission, including its chairperson. The other two members had already resigned voluntarily, at my request,” said Sioka.

The new structure comprises 10 members, with the former Swapo member of the National Assembly, Bishop Dr Zephania Kameeta as the chairperson. Dr Kameeta was the Evangelical Lutheran Church in the Republic of Namibia (ELCRN) bishop between 2002 and 2013.

Representing Government are Lourencia Tjiho; Namibia’s first nuclear medicine specialist at Nuclear Medicine Department of the Dr AB May Cancer Centre at Windhoek Central Hospital, Herman Shitaleni and the Ministry of Lands and Resettlement's deputy director: administration, Rebecca Iyambo.

Representing employers are Deidre Sauls - president of the Law Society; Hilya Nandago - senior legal advisor/principal officer for CIH Ltd Group Retirement Fund and Michael Hill.

Representing the trade unions are Justina Jonas - general secretary of the Metal and Allied Namibian Workers' Union (Manwu) - Toini Nauyoma and Evans Maswahu.

The appointment contracts, which the minister said can be renewed, are effective starting today, January 22 to 31 December, 2014.