Shikongo sworn in as Oshakati East councillor

17 Sep 2019 15:00pm
OSHAKATI, 17 SEP (NAMPA) – Abner Shikongo was on Tuesday sworn in as the new councillor for the Oshakati East Constituency, following the conclusion of a by-election held last month.
Local magistrate, Antonius Shapumba, presided over the swearing in ceremony.
Shikongo, a Swapo candidate, won the by-election with 2 935 votes, followed by an independent candidate, Fiina Kuutondokwa, with 234 votes.
Theofelus Kamati of the Popular Democratic Movement (PDM) was in third position with 185 votes, followed by Festus Shaduva of the Namibia Economic Freedom Fighters (NEFF) with 32 votes in the fourth place.
Elias Iiyambo of the Congress of Democrats (CoD) and Rebekka Kambayi of Swanu attained 17 and 10 votes, respectively.
The Oshakati East Constituency has been without a councillor since May 2019, following the death of the former councillor, Lotto Kuushomwa.
Oshana regional councillor for Uuvudhiya Constituency, Seblon Amutenya Ndahafa was also sworn in Tuesday as member of the management committee of the Oshana Regional Council, taking over from Elia Irimari, who was appointed the Governor of the Oshana Region in March this year.