Mumbala happy with the ‘pot’ results

10 Sep 2019 08:30am
KEETMANSHOOP, 10 SEP (NAMPA) – The ||Kharas Swapo regional coordinator said the reason he did not stand for election at the Swapo electoral college - known as the ‘pot’ - is because he wanted to give others a chance.
In an interview with Nampa on Monday, Matheus Mumbala said it was his choice to stand or not to stand for the pot, and he decided not to stand and allow others to stand a chance to go to parliament.
The regional coordinator, who as a Swapo central committee member automatically qualified for the pot, bowed out of the race four days ahead of the event.
“To parliament I will go but not now, I wanted to give a chance to others from this region, I wanted the young people to go; that’s why I stood aside,” said Mumbala.
Meanwhile, the regional coordinator described the electoral college outcome as fair, noting he was happy that all the national leaders assigned to the ||Kharas Region made the list to qualify for the next National Assembly.
The assigned members to the region are Deputy Minister of Sport, Youth and National Service, Agnes Tjongarero who emerged at number 42 on the list, Deputy Minister of Home Affairs and Immigration, Maureen Hinda-Mbuende at 66, Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources Bernhardt Esau at 33 and Member of Parliament, Eliphas Ndingara in 71st spot.
“One does not always get the desired results from elections but the region did try its best with two more central committee members making it to the list,” Mumbala said.
They are Hilma Nicanor, the Keetmanshoop Urban Constituency councillor who stands at number 18 while Hilaria Mukapuli, the mayor of Lüderitz stands at 70 on the pot list.
Mumbala expressed disappointment that the two candidates who were elected to represent the region did not make it on the 96-member list, however he was quick to say that there is always a next time where the region can do better.
The two regional candidates were Oranjemund regional councillor Lazarus Nangolo, who came in at 113, and the party’s regional information and mobilisation secretary Aletha Frederick at 156.
Other representatives from ||Kharas who did not make it to the list are central committee member Laurencia Stephanus in position 161, youth league central committee member Maria Shihepo at 160 and Anna Marie Pieter of the elders council central committee in 154th spot.