NAMAs leave audience in awe

08 Sep 2019 16:00pm
SWAKOPMUND, 08 SEP (NAMPA) – From a horse to motorbikes, flying eagle, bathtub and a shower on stage, the 2019 Namibian Annual Music Awards is one event that will have many talking for some time.
The night of glitz and glamour held at the Dome in Swakopmund left many speechless Saturday night as the event had a much bigger stage and for the first time, there were stunts performed.
For her performance of the song ‘Fantastic Sam’, Lize Ehlers appeared on stage on a black horse while South African award-winning musician and hitmaker of ‘Deeper’, Holly Rey came into sight with an entourage of motorbikes.
Sally Boss Madam stunned the audience when she flew on a carved wooden eagle while performing her hit song ‘Net so’, and Y’Cliff performed his song ‘Drowning in my feelings’ in a bathtub on stage.
When the audience thought it couldn’t get any better, rapper Skrypt stood under a running shower during his slot.
Ehlers was the biggest winner of the night walking away with three awards for the Best House, Best Female Artist of the Year and the newly introduced category, Artist of the Year.
Exit won the Best Kwaito and Best Male Artist of the Year categories, while Top Cheri took the Best Newcomer and Best Album of the Year awards.
Gazza’s hit song ‘Chelete’ which reached a million views on YouTube won him the Best Afro Pop and Song of the Year awards.
Another big winner was KK whose single ‘Khâim⒠featuring Tswazis won him the awards for Best Single and Best Music Video.
The Best Afrikaans song went to Vaughn Ahrens for ‘Amen’, Best Damara Punch went to T-Bozz and Staika for the song ‘Nauxube’, best Oviritjie went to MBM for the song ‘Mukaa kozongome’ and the Best Soukous/Kwasa went to Allen Jonathan for ‘Chichikezako’ featuring DJ Lenga Lenga.
Artists who won on the night but were not present to receive their awards include Big Ben for the Best Traditional Award, Jaleel for Best R&B and South Africa’s AKA who won the Pan African Artist of the Year Award.
Newcomer Lindsey won the Best Gospel category for her song ‘Alles op die altaar’, while the Rap/Hip Hop was won by Skrypt for the song ‘I got it’.
Best Reggae went to Gerry Dread for the song ‘Ghetto Survival’ and the award for Best Collaboration went to Blenge Mo Fire featuring Etjo from the duo Ethnix and Jimmy Jay for ‘2 Sides’.
Duo Tswazis walked away with the Best Duo/Group of the Year award.