Samaria calls up squad for Eritrea clash

25 Aug 2019 13:10pm
WINDHOEK, 25 AUG (NAMPA) – Interim Brave Warriors coach, Bobby Samaria has called up a 35-player provisional squad to prepare for the 2022 Federation of International Football Federations (FIFA) World Cup qualifiers against Eritrea slated for early September.

According to a media statement issued by the Namibia Football Association (NFA) on Sunday, the FIFA/NFA normalisation committee has given Samaria the support to continue working as Brave Warriors mentor, together with his technical team.

The matches against Eritrea will take place on 04 September in Eritrea, with the return leg scheduled for the Sam Nujoma Stadium in Windhoek on 10 September 2019.

“The professional players will arrive from 29 August and Peter Shalulile will be the last one to join us the day we leave on 01 September to go and do the job away from home,” Samaria is quoted as saying.

The interim coach Samaria also explained the absence of some key players from the training squad for various reasons.

“I have spoken to the two European-based players, Ryan Nyambe and Manfred Starke and we agreed that for now they fight for places at their respective clubs and later on we consider them. As for Riaan Hanamub, he lost his mother and sister in a car accident this weekend and we also agreed to leave him out for now,” Samaria explained.

He added that the team will have 11 local-based players because after the Eritrea clash, the local-based Warriors will take on Madagascar in the final round of the 2020 African Nations Championship qualifiers.

The local based players will report on Sunday 25 August, with training to start on Monday morning at the NFA Technical Centre, while the foreign legion will report to training on 29 August.

The final team of 23 players will depart on 01 September to Asmara, Eritrea.

The preliminary team is as follows: Virgil Vries, Loydt Kazapua, Junias Theophilus, Aprocious Petrus, Charles Uirab, Ratanda Mbazuvara, Ivan Kamberipa, Obrey Amseb, Marcel Papama and Gustav Isaak, Dynamo Fredericks, Vitapi Ngaruka, Emilio Martin, McCartney Nawaseb, Immanuel Heita, Wendell Rudath and Kamaijanda Ndisiro, Mapenzi Muwanei, Llewelyn Stanley and Absalom Iimbondi, Isaskar Gurirab, Elmo Kambindu, Panduleni Nekundi, Gregory Auchumeb, Willy Stephanus and Petrus Shitembi, Denzil Haoseb, Peter Shalulile, Chris Katjiukua, Calvin Spiegel, Benson Shilongo, Hendrik Somaeb, Deon Hotto, Joslin Kamatuka, and Tiberius Lombard.