||Kharas announce football team for Skorpion Zinc cup

19 Aug 2019 14:40pm
REHOBOTH, 19 AUG (NAMPA) – The defending champions ||Kharas Region announced its 25-member Under-17 (U-17) football squad for the Skorpion Zinc Cup to be held over the weekend.
The tournament will take place in Windhoek from 23-26 August and will see all 14 regions compete in what is the biggest youth tournament for the U-17s.
Regional secretary, Emrico Blaauw said the team was selected on Saturday after the final trials were held in Keetmanshoop.
“We had our trials last weekend and went into camp immediately. The team has two sessions, one in the morning and one in the afternoon,” he said.
Blaauw said only three players from last year’s winning team remain as most players are new.
“We have selected players from all the football academies in the region and we are going with a new approach this time. We will do our best to retain the cup and bring it home,” he added.
The players selected are Kwaitros Dirks, Gerswin Isaacks, Josias Haludilu, Nelly Rooi, Hermanus Poffader, Kholisile Isaack, Markus Thomas, Jeremy Freyer, Esterigo Swartz, Mario Mbati, Norman Katjito, Dane Diergaardt, Geraldo Kennedy, Winslow Bock, Wilrico Frederick, Delron Isaack, Bonifatius Draaier, Joseph Kambonde, Ervin Christiaans, Katalian Higoam, Wilhelm Nekayi, William Kido, Jeraldon Swartz, Pieter Engelbrecht and Ashton Slambert.
The tournament’s defending champions have been grouped with Hardap, Omaheke, Kavango East and Oshana in group B.
In group A, hosts Khomas will go up against Erongo, Kunene, Zambezi and Otjozondjupa.
Group C is comprised of Ohangwena, Oshikoto, Omusati and Kavango West.
The top three teams and the best placed runner-up will qualify for the semi-finals of the competition.