Over 20 000 voters registered during supplementary registration in Erongo

12 Aug 2019 16:10pm
SWAKOPMUND, 12 AUG (NAMPA) – The Erongo Region registered 20 772 voters during the supplementary voters’ registration which took place between 08 and 27 July 2019.
Of this number, new applications made up 9 151 from all of the region’s seven constituencies. The highest number was recorded in the Swakopmund Constituency, where 3 252 new applications for voter cards were received.
This information was revealed by the Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN)’s coordinator for the region, Kashidinge Nghipuilepo during a stakeholder meeting here on Monday.
Nghipuilepo said 8 528 applications were for duplicates for people who either lost their voter cards or because the cards were obsolete for various reasons. A total of 3 093 applications were for voters whose addresses had changed.
“The registration process has its ups and downs and the Erongo Region experienced a number of challenges,” he said.
Nghipuilepo noted that some of the challenges arose while they tried to get access to venues at which to set up registration points for communities who were decentralised and far from central points in the region.
“Our officials were unable to gain access to a number of venues which were agreed upon during the stakeholders’ meeting which took place before the commencement of the process. This was due to owners changing their minds about availing the venues at the last minute, which made it difficult for the officials to register voters in those communities or forced them to set up stations in corridors,” he said.
He however added that there were some owners who offered alternative venues to ECN officials when the initial venues were unavailable.
Nghipuilepo further said potential voters who were unable to register during the supplementary voters’ registration can still do so at the ECN head office in Windhoek.
The 2019 national elections are scheduled to take place on 27 November.
Seagoing personnel and foreign missions’ voting date is 13 November, with voting stations to be set up for seagoing personnel in Walvis Bay and Lüderitz.
Foreign missions will be expected to vote from the respective embassies.
The Erongo Region had 104 297 registered voters during the last general elections in 2014.