Namibia takes over SACU chairpersonship

18 Jul 2019 15:50pm
WINDHOEK, 18 JUL (NAMPA) - Namibia on Thursday officially assumed the chairpersonship of the Southern Africa Customs Union (SACU) Council of Ministers.
During a media conference held in the capital, Minister of Finance Calle Schlettwein took over the chairpersonship of the SACU Council of Ministers from outgoing chairperson and Lesotho’s Minister of Finance, Dr Moeketsi Majoro.
Schlettwein said SACU economies are experiencing headwinds emanating from a constellation of external shocks such prevailing drought and downside risks on global trade, as well as productive constraints within the region.
“These external and regional factors limit our ambition to achieve broad-based poverty reduction, the creation of jobs and shared prosperity for all in the shortest time possible,” the minister said.
Among the issues on the agenda of the council over the next 12 months is the 2002 SACU Agreement, which offers a relevant framework for the union to advance its developmental ambitions, in addition to the integration of Southern African economies within the customs area.
Majoro said the main focus of the council during Lesotho's term was the implementation process of the Work Programme for the Ministerial Task Teams.
“There is an urgency now to keep the momentum going and expedite the implementation process to ensure the successful conclusion of the agreed work,” he said.
President Hage Geingob will chair the SACU Summit and Schlettwein the SACU Council of Ministers, while the Ministry of Finance's Executive Director, Ericah Shafudah, takes over as chairperson of the SACU Commission.