Samaria appointed Brave Warriors coach

15 Jul 2019 16:40pm
WINDHOEK, 15 JUL (NAMPA) – African Stars’ head coach, Bobby Samaria, has been temporarily appointed as the senior men’s national football team coach for the 2020 African Nations Championship (CHAN) qualifier matches against Comoros Island scheduled for 26 July and 02 August.
The International Federation of Association Football’s Normalisation Committee chairperson, Hilda Basson-Namundjebo, confirmed Samaria’s appointment through a media statement on Monday.
“We believe Bobby has the right mentality and enthusiasm to lead the team at this juncture. We were never going to pull out of these important qualifiers and the team starts training on Tuesday. The previous head coach initiated this project and players and we [are] just carrying it through for continuation,” Basson-Namundjebo said.
The contract of current Brave Warriors coach, Ricardo Mannetti, expires on 31 July.
Samaria expressed his excitement at being named the national team coach, saying he was looking forward to the challenge.
“When I was approached to consider the offer to coach the national team, I was excited and firstly needed to get the blessings from Africans Stars who gave me that and then I accepted to serve my country in this capacity. Being part of the setup is not an entitlement and I’m ready to work,” said Samaria.
For his first assignment with the team, Samaria called up 31 players who will start training on Tuesday at the NFA Technical Centre.
The Brave Warriors, as the national team is affectionately known, will start the quest to reach their second CHAN finals when they face Comoros Island in the second round of the qualifiers, with the winner of the two legs scheduled to take on the victor from the clash between Madagascar and Mozambique.
The 31 players are as follows:
Larry Horaeb, Charles Hambira and Junias Theophilus (Tura Magic), Aprocious Petrus (Eleven Arrows), Kennedy Eib ( Touch & Go), Mata Mbemutjiua (Young African), Jonas Mathias ( Citizens), Edmund Kambanda and Charles Uirab (UNAM), Ratanda Mbazuvara, Treasure Kauapirura, Ivan Kamberipa, Obrey Amseb, Marcel Papama, Gustav Isaak ( African Stars), Immanuel Heita, Dynamo Fredericks, Wesley Katjiteo, Vitapi Ngaruka, Emilio Martin, McCartney Naweseb, Wendell Rudath (Black Africa), Mapenzi Muwanei, Llewelyn Stanley and Absalom Iimbondi (Tigers), Isaskar Gurirab (Life Fighters), Elmo Kambindu, Olsen Ameb and Bernard Horaseb (Mighty Gunners), Panduleni Nekundi (Unattached), Revered Matroos (Young Brazilians).