ECN officer urges nationals to register

15 Jan 2014 09:30am
ONGWEDIVA, 15 JAN (NAMPA) – A voters’ education officer of the Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) in the Oshana Region, Flavia Negumbo has encouraged all Namibian nationals to ensure that they acquire new voters’ cards during this general registration of voters.
Speaking during the Voters’ Education Road Show at Oshakati and Ondangwa on Monday and Tuesday, respectively Negumbo said all eligible voters are anticipated to register, as the voters’ cards that are in their position have expired and it will not be valid for the Presidential and National Assembly elections in November this year.
Negumbo pointed out that the ECN expects all Namibian nationals, who are 18 years and above, to register as from the 15th of this month until the 2nd March in order to become eligible electorate.
To register as a voter a person needs proof of identity, age and Namibian citizenship by producing a new Namibian identification document (ID), old Namibian ID of Southwest Africa or valid green Namibian passport.
Other proof of identity, age and Namibian citizenship at the registration points is the presentation of the citizenship certificate supported by an old Namibian ID by people born outside the country or a Namibian Birth Certificate supported by a new Namibian drivers’ licence.
Negumbo told those attended the road show that a person in position of a Namibian birth certificate only, also qualifies to be registered as a voter, provided that two already registered persons/deponents support such a person with a declaration/affirmation under oath.
An ECN team, consisting of officials from the head office in Windhoek and regional voters’ education officers, is conducting Voters’ Education road shows in northern Namibia as from Wednesday last week until the 25th of this month.
The team is headed by an ECN Senior Information Officer, Gustaf Tomanga, and it strives to sensitise the communities on this year’s General Registration of Voters and eventually the Presidential and National Assembly elections.