New Ondangwa Urban Councillor takes oath

02 Jul 2019 19:10pm
OSHAKATI, 02 JUL (NAMPA) – Leonard Negonga was on Tuesday sworn in as the new councillor for the Ondangwa Urban Constituency, following a by-election held in the constituency last month.
Local magistrate Helena Ekandjo presided over the swearing-in ceremony. Negonga, a Swapo candidate, won the by-election with 1 936 votes, followed by independent candidate Angeline Immanuel with 1 402 votes.
Johannes Martin of the Popular Democratic Movement was in third position with 326 votes, followed by Vincent Asser of the All People’s Party and Mandume Andreas of the Congress of Democrats with 97 and 31 votes, respectively.
Out of 16 000 potential voters who registered for the election, only 3 792 cast their votes at 21 polling stations throughout the constituency.
Speaking after the ceremony, Negonga said he accepts the responsibility with great humility and pledged to serve the community of Ondangwa.
He also used the platform to thank the electorate who exercised their democratic rights by casting their votes during the by-election.
“My special thanks and gratitude go to all Swapo members, supporters and sympathisers who voted wisely for our party to remain relevant in the Ondangwa Urban Constituency,” Negonga said.
The constituency has been without a councillor since March this year following the appointment of the former Councillor, Elia Irimari as the region's new governor.