New NSC board appointed

18 Jun 2019 17:40pm
WINDHOEK, 18 JUN (NAMPA) – Minister of Sport, Youth and National Service Erastus Utoni has appointed nine members to serve as the Namibia Sports Commission (NSC) Board Members for the next three years.

The Minister made the announcement on Tuesday here, where he retained the services of Chairperson Joel Matheus.

The other members retained include Erica Beukes and Thomas Mbeeli, while Marius Fredrick Johannes, Werner Jeffrey, Karen Mubonenwa, Niclause Nghumono, Linda Chicalu and Alna Similo join the board as newcomers.

They replace Jesse Schickerling, Monica Shapwa, Rudolph Haingura, Benjamin Rehang, Peter Wilson and Adelheid Jacobs.

Speaking at the announcement, Uutoni called on the incoming commissioners to work towards fulfilling the mandate of the NSC’s strategic plan for 2018 to 2022 which guides all sporting activities in Namibia.

“This team brings in a wealth of sports experience as most of them are professionals in the sporting industry. We have a strong knowledge in leadership, financial management, human resource development and law practitioners within these members,” Uutoni said.

He further thanked the outgoing commissioners for their contribution, saying their work forms part of the foundation, which the incoming board will build on.

In his acceptance speech, Matheus pledged to continue working hard, saying he looks forward to forming a strong team that will respond to the needs of Namibian sport.

“I look forward that we can work together, fight together and form a unity of purpose as already declared by the minister. Our job is to advise the minister on the needs of sports in the country, and this team will be able to drive and give its best to Namibian sports,” he said.