Scholtz elected chairperson of Karas management committee

29 May 2013 11:00
KEETMANSHOOP, 29 MAY (NAMPA) - Lüderitz Constituency Councillor Jan Scholtz was re-elected and sworn-in as the chairperson of the Karas Regional Council?s management committee here on Wednesday.
During the election, Berseba Constituency Councillor and Member of Parliament (MP) Dawid Boois was the first to nominate Scholtz, seconded by fellow MP and Keetmanshoop Urban Constituency Councillor Hilma Nikanor.
For the first position of the council management committee member, Oranjemund and Rosh Pinah Constituency Councillor Eliphas Iita nominated Keetmanshoop Rural Constituency Councillor Jims Christiaan.
Karasburg Constituency Councillor Paulus Ephraim seconded Iita?s nomination before Scholtz stood up and nominated Ephraim for the second position.
This nomination was seconded by Christiaan.
Keetmanshioop Magistrate Philanda-Blockstein Christiaan, who presided over the election, then swore-in the three members.
Iita is an ordinary member of the management committee.
A member qualifies for a position when his nomination is seconded.
The Karas Regional Council management committee maintained the status quo, as these were the same members who served on the committee for the last two years and six months.
After the next two years and six months, the council will again hold another election for new members.
In his acceptance speech, Scholtz thanked his comrades for entrusting him with the responsibility of chairperson, and he promised to work with everyone in the council for the development of the region.
He noted that it is time to build on the foundation which was laid last year, and he urged inhabitants of the region to work hard this year.
?We, as the council, will from maintain a good relationship with the office of the regional governor to ensure that there is team work and that we are always working towards success,? Scholtz promised.