National Arts Council appoints new members

03 Jun 2019 20:00pm
WINDHOEK, 03 JUN (NAMPA) – Minister of Education, Arts and Culture Katrina Hanse-Himarwa on Monday announced the appointment of the National Arts Council of Namibia (NACN) members for the term 01 April 2019 to 31 March 2022.
The NACN is established through the National Arts Fund (NAF) Act No 1 of 2005, which makes provision for the establishment of the council to act as an advisory body to the NAF.
The ministry in a statement said the council is comprised of various public and private representatives who went through an induction on 17 May 2019.
It includes public nominees and former members Patrick Sam, a consultant and arts advocate, and Shareen Thude, manager of the Namibia Craft Centre, who retained their positions of chairperson and vice chairperson respectively.
Ministry representatives, Executive Director Sanet Steenkamp and Director of Arts Ervast Mtota are part of the council as well.
Meanwhile, the newly publicly nominated members are Dalicia Olivier and Leitago /Narib.
The alternate members are Petsy Neiss, Ambrosius Sindano, Martha Amutenya, Felix Haingura, Veno Kauaria and M’kariko Amagulu.
The council’s mandate is to develop local arts through funding and providing support services to Namibian artists and art organisations, on a representative basis, while adhering to the principles of access, equity, quality and democracy, according to the statement.