Brave Warriors to face Malawi on Tuesday

27 May 2019 18:40pm
RUNDU, 27 MAY (NAMPA) - The Brave Warriors will on Tuesday face Malawi in their second game of the 2019 Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (Cosafa) Cup at the King Zwelithini Stadium in South Africa, Durban.
The Brave Warriors won the first match, 2-1 against Mozambique on Sunday at the same venue, which gave it a temporary lead in Group B before Malawi thrashed Seychelles 3-0 later on Sunday also at the same stadium.
A statement issued by Cosafa on Monday said after the game with Malawi, the Brave Warriors will face Seychelles at the Princess Magogo Stadium on Thursday, 30 May 2019.
The winners of the group will face Zambia in a quarter final match set for 02 June at Princess Magogo Stadium, with winners going on to play in the semi-finals and the losers participating in the plate finals, the statement added.
In 2018, Namibia lost 5-4 on penalties to Zambia in the quarter finals, before being thrashed 4-1 by hosts South Africa in the semi-finals of the plate competition.
The statement further read that, according to the history of the competition between the two teams, Tuesday's match-up will be the fifth meeting between the two sides, with the first one which was in 2008.
Namibia remains unbeaten in four previous Cosafa Cup encounters with Malawi, winning three and playing to a single draw. They have scored nine goals and Malawi four. In addition, it is also the first time the teams have met in any competition since the 2014 FIFA World Cup qualifiers, when they played to a 0-0 draw in June 2013, it explained.
The squad consists largely of home-based players, with only Lloyd Kazapua, Sadney Urikhob and Joslyn Kamatuka being the inclusions not plying their trade locally.
Namibia’s squad comprises of Ratanda Mbazuvara, Lloyd Kazapua, Larry Horaeb, Charles Hambira, Vitapi Ngaruka, Ivan Kamberipa, Emilio Martin, Aprocious Petrus, Edmund Kambanda, Absalom Iimbondi, Aubrey Amseb, Dynamo Fredericks, Marcel Papama, Wesley Katjiteo and Llewelyn Stanley, McCartney Naweseb, Isaskar Gurirab, Junias Theophilus, Joslyn Kamatuka and Sadney Urikhob.