Cosafa squad announced

21 May 2019 14:50pm
WINDHOEK, 21 MAY (NAMPA) – The Namibia Football Association has released a list of 20 players that will take part in the 2019 Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (Cosafa) Senior Men’s championships in Durban, South Africa.
A media statement availed to Nampa on Tuesday said the team will depart for South Africa on Thursday, for the tournament scheduled to take place between 25 May and 08 June.
The tournament will see Namibia participating in Group B, where they will play Mozambique on 26 May and Malawi on 28 May at King Zwelithini Stadium before finishing their group stage matches against Seychelles on 30 May at the Princess Magogo Stadium.
The squad consists largely of home-based players, with only Lloyd Kazapua, Sadney Urikhob and Joslyn Kamatuka being the inclusions not plying their trade locally.
The winners of the group will face Zambia in the quarterfinal match set for 02 June at Princess Magogo Stadium.
The winners will play in the semi-finals, while the losers will participate in the plate finals.
In 2018, Namibia lost 5-4 on penalties to Zambia in the quarterfinals, before being thrashed 4-1 by hosts South Africa in the semi-finals of the plate competition.
The Cosafa squad is as follows:
Goalkeepers: Ratanda Mbazuvara, Lloyd Kazapua
Defenders: Larry Horaeb, Charles Hambira, Vitapi Ngaruka, Ivan Kamberipa, Emilio Martin, Aprocious Petrus and Edmund Kambanda
Midfielders: Absalom Iimbondi, Aubrey Amseb, Dynamo Fredericks, Marcel Papama, Wesley Katjiteo and Llewelyn Stanley
Strikers: McCartney Nawaseb, Isaskar Gurirab, Junias Theophilus, Joslyn Kamatuka and Sadney Urikhob
The Cosafa Cup final will take place at the Moses Mabhida Stadium on 08 June.