Tigers crowned Standard Bank Top 8 champions

19 May 2019 11:50am
WINDHOEK, 19 MAY (NAMPA) - African Stars football club became the first winners of the Standard Bank Top Eight Cup on Saturday after beating a resilient Tigers 2-0 in the final at the Sam Nujoma stadium.

The Top Eight competition, which was launched this year, saw the Katutura-based outfits clashing in the final after successfully beating their opponents in the semi-finals last month.

Tigers defeated Black Africa on penalties after their goalless two leg encounters, while African Stars defeated Tura Magic 1-0 from their two clashes en route to the final.

On Saturday, the two teams played a tactical game in the opening 15 minutes despite both of them failing to control the possession. With 20 minutes into the game Tigers started having most of the possession but it was African Stars who found the back of the net first.

Gustav Isaacks made it count from a dead ball situation as his strike from a free-kick 20 metres outside the box deflected on the Tigers wall for their opener in the 34th minute. With the lead, African Stars started controlling much of the ball possession as the first half ended 1-0 in their favour.

In the second half, Tigers brought in Deon Tjizumue in place of Jackson Johannes and the substitute found the back of the net in the 59th minute after pouncing on Absalom Iimbondi's strike that was punched out by African Stars' goalkeeper, Ratanda Mbazuvara, but his goal was disallowed for an offside by the linesman.

Tigers continued with their dominance of the game but could not find the back of the net as their last touch failed them on several occasions.

African Stars then punished their opponents in the 72nd minute, when Panduleni Nekundi controlled a ball from the corner and it landed at an unmarked Crispin Mbewe’s feet, who blasted it into the back of the net.

With the win African Stars walked away with N.dollars 500 000, while Tigers took home N.dollars 250 000.

Stars goalkeeper took the man of the match award as well as goalkeeper of the tournament accolade, while Ambrosius Amseb from the same team walked away with player of the tournament award, with their coach Bobby Samaria being named coach of the tournament.

Mbewe, Llewelyn Stanley and Absalom Omseb shared the top goal scorer price.