Mupetami and Shikongo make RASA final list

13 May 2019 18:40pm
WINDHOEK, 13 MAY (NAMPA) – Paralympic athlete Ananias Shikongo and sports journalist Limba Mupetami are the only Namibians that made the final list for the 2019 Regional Annual Sports Awards (RASA).
The third edition of the RASA awards will take place 25 May 2019 in Windhoek, Namibia.
During the 2018 Namibia Sports Commission Sports Awards, Shikongo won the disability sportsman of the year award while Mupetami won the sports journalist of the year award.
Speaking during the nominees’ announcement on Monday, RASA chairperson Vetumbuavi Veii said the event is held in May in celebration of Africa Day and therefore, all the stakeholders in the region should participate.
The profile of sports can only be improved if all athletes and stakeholders are at the award ceremony, which in the end shows the magnitude and importance of the event, he said.
“Sports always play second field when it comes to prioritisation at country level in terms of budgeting, that’s why we call on all stakeholders to come and attend the event,” Veii added.
He further noted that if opportunities are not given to children in the region, no one will make it as professionals.

The nominations for the RASA awards are:

Coach of the year
Gilbert Nyamutsamba (Sevens rugby) - Zimbabwe
Samuel Sepeng (athletics) - South Africa
Christina Mkwanda-Msinji (netball) - Malawi

Journalist of the year
Tinashe Tirivavi (The Mirror) - Zimbabwe
Motshidisi Mohono - South Africa
Limba Mupetami (Namibian Sun) - Namibia

Junior female sportsperson of the year
Moneyi Chingaipe (athletics) - Malawi
Lorryn Ashley Bass (rowing) - Zimbabwe
Manqabang Tsibela (athletics) - Lesotho

Junior male sportsperson of the year
Kennedy Luchembe (athletics) - Zambia
Blessings Kamanga (chess) - Malawi
Ryan Gwidzima (squash) - Zimbabwe

Sports team of the year
Athletics National Team (athletics) - Botswana
Banyana Banyana (football) - South Africa
Netball - Malawi

Sportsman of the year
Isaac Makwala (athletics) - Botswana
Wilfred Mashaya (martial arts) - South Africa
Chad le Clos (swimming) - South Africa

Sportsman of the year with disability
Ndodanzi Jonathan (athletics T12) - South Africa
Ntutu Celestino Elias Antonio (football) - Angola
Ananias Shikongo (athletics T11) - Namibia

Sportswoman of the year
Anisha Basheel (boxing) - Malawi
Caster Semenya (athletics) - South Africa
Lerato Sechele (athletics) - Lesotho

Sportswoman of the year with disability
Margaret Bangajena (athletics - wheelchair racing) - Zimbabwe
Monica Munga (athletics) - Zambia
Anrune Liebenberg (athletics T47) - South Africa

Sportsperson of the year
Wilfred Mashaya - Zimbabwe
Anisha Basheel - Malawi
Caster Semenya - South Africa