LPM elects Hardap regional representatives

29 Apr 2019 14:50pm
REHOBOTH, 29 APR (NAMPA) – The Landless People’s Movement (LPM) on Sunday appointed the regional leadership for the Hardap Region at a meeting held at the Hermanus van Wyk Hall in Rehoboth.
The regional party representatives were introduced at a public meeting held later in the day, where 10 former United People’s Movement (UPM) members were also introduced as new LPM members.
One of them is former UPM local authority councillor, Leonard Pienaar, who was among the Rehoboth Town Council members suspended last year by Minister of Urban and Rural Development, Peya Mushelenga for non-compliance of ministerial directives. Other contributing factors included lack of leadership, division or lack of teamwork between the councillors.
The elected LPM representatives are Whilly Hochtritt as grassroots commissar, the chief mobiliser in the region, deputised by Rogetha Haack.
Sydney Windstaan is the regional operative secretary and George van Staden the grassroots commander. Francois Vries is tasked as the regional communications manager and Fransis Gawases the treasurer.
Speaking to Nampa on the sidelines of the meeting, Hochtritt said LPM has arrived as an alternative and will restore the people’s dignity and humanity once voted into power.
“The LPM will straighten things out with the Swapo-led government. Just look at the neglected and devastated situation of Burgershoek and Block E where there are insufficient sanitation or decent housing,” he said.
Hochtritt added LPM will be the voice of the voiceless and make sure that the people’s demands are heard and adhered to.
Namibia will hold general elections in November this year.