Namibia exempts 92 countries from visa requirements

26 Apr 2019 08:00am
WINDHOEK, 26 APR (NAMPA) – Out of 92 countries exempted from visa requirements to enter Namibia, only 36 have exempted Namibia from visa requirements to enter their countries as of the 2018/19 financial year.
This was revealed by Minister of Home Affairs and Immigration, Frans Kapofi during his budget motivation in the National Assembly on Thursday.
Kapofi revealed that although Namibia currently offers visa-free access to nationals from 50 African countries who hold diplomatic, official and service or ordinary passports, only 17 African countries exempted Namibians from visa requirements.
He added that out of 42 non-African countries, inclusive of European, Asian, North and South American countries, 19 allowed visa-free entrance for Namibians.
Kapofi said as a response to a call by President Hage Geingob to exempt holders of diplomatic and official or service passports from visa requirements to Namibia, additional holders of diplomatic and official passports of 31 African countries were exempted from the same to enter Namibia as of 10 August 2018. Jamaican nationals were also afforded this exemption.
“As a product of international solidarity, Namibia has taken this voluntary decision to allow citizens of those countries to visit our country visa free. It is our hope that common sense will prevail in those countries to reciprocate our gesture of goodwill,” said Kapofi.