Omaheke announces Newspaper Cup team

10 Apr 2019 13:30pm
REHOBOTH, 10 APR (NAMPA) - The Omaheke Region has announced its squad that will compete in the 18th edition of The Namibian Newspaper Cup in Marienatal next weekend.
The media officer of the record four-time winners of the competition, Jeraldo Eiseb told Nampa the final squad was selected on Monday and preparations are well on track.
“We are well prepared as we have been working with the boys for over a month. I think we stand a good chance of reaching the knock-out stages although it won’t be easy against host Hardap that will be buoyed by their home support,” Eiseb said.
He said the match against Hardap will go down as “the final before the final.” The team will be in camp as from Thursday and will have two sessions each day.
Omaheke is grouped along with host region Hardap, Kunene and Kavango West.
The eastern region won the competition on four occasions: at the inaugural event in 2001 in Windhoek, in 2002 in Otjiwarongo; in 2009 in Windhoek and 2018 in Katima Mulilo.
The team is as follows:
Rigobert Araeb (Kanaan United)
Deven Ndjembo (Mathata)
Unjekereruru Hambira (Desert Rollers)
Ndjivatera Mungunda (Desert Roller)
Ueriuka Tjahere (Desert Rollers)
Menthos Taseb (Kom Haal Hulle)
Ririkeho Tjongarero (Desert Rollers)
Roy Rukoro (Tura Magic)
Okeri Hangero (Desert Rollers)
Nicodemus Haikali (Tura Magic)
Tjarirove Tjejemba (Young African)
Ngaihape Katiko (Desert Rollers)
Tuhupamue Kahorere (Desert Rollers)
Betheul Muzeu (Tura Magic)
Kamu Tuu Ndukireepo (Desert Roller)
King Higao Boois (Desert Rollers)
Simon Elago (Desert Rollers)
Tuvatera Tjijenda (Desert Rollers)
Lewaaistiek April (Golden Boys)
Engelhard Kavari (Desert Rollers)
Meanwhile, the team will play a friendly match against the visiting Westphalia Under-17 team at the Legare Stadium at 16h00 on Saturday in preparation for the Newspaper Cup.