Baby Warriors preparing for Westphalia clash

08 Apr 2019 13:10pm
REHOBOTH, 08 APR (NAMPA) – The Namibia Football Association (NFA) has called up 30 players to the Baby Warriors camp that starts Wednesday in preparations for two friendly games against the Westphalia regional team that visits from this Friday.
Namibia, through the Ministry of Sport, Youth and National Service, and the Football and Athletics Association of Westphalia (FLVW) have over 20 years of football history and this time around, the German side will be in Namibia playing three games from 13-20 April at Gobabis, Windhoek and Mariental.
In a Monday media release, Baby Warriors coach Pauhl Malembu said they called up 30 players from which 20 players will be selected to take on their Westphalia counterparts in the planned friendlies that will give the local boys much-needed game time against reputable opposition.
“We are focusing on boys born in 2003 and 2004 as we want them to play Westphalia, a top quality side, for them to gain necessary experience as we await the Council of Southern Africa Football Associations Under-17 championships later this year. For some of the players it will be the first time in the national team setup but we also have experienced players such as the captain Prins Tjiueza,” said Malembu.
Westphalia jet into Namibia on Friday and will play their first game at Legare Stadium in Gobabis against Omaheke Under-19 on Saturday at 16h00 before meeting the Baby Warriors on 16 April at 18h00 at the NFA Technical Centre.
The third and final match of their tour will be on 20 April at the Mariental Sports Stadium at 20h00 against the Baby Warriors before flying back out to Germany.
The following players are requested to report at Football House by Tuesday, 20h30 for the training camp:
Pascal Matende, Promiss Gurirab, Steven Damaseb, Tyron George, Jarule Awaseb and Prins Tjiueza (Erongo Region); Ikuaterua Mungendje, Bradley Hanixab, Tjipee Kaputjaza and Friedman Goraseb (Otjozondjupa Region); Denzil Narib, Edmar Kamatuka, Ndjiharine Katjivena, Giagino Geiriseb, Romin Berndt, Sven Gunzel, Zander Mcclude, John-Pall Beukes, Owen Damaseb, Xavier Mcclude, Murphy Naobeb and Filippo Micheletti (Khomas Region); Vicenco Ganeb and Amazing Kandjii (Omaheke Region); Byron Eiseb and Gonzalec Tsuseb (Kunene Region); Djorkaef Stein and Prince Apollus (//Kharas Region); Erastus Ambambi (Omusati Region) and Shamu Samunzala (Zambezi Region).