Gladiators expected to rise to the occasion against Botswana

04 Apr 2019 20:00pm
REHOBOTH, 04 APR (NAMPA) – The Brave Gladiators are expected to rise to the occasion Friday night when they take on Botswana in Gaborone in the first round, first leg match of the 2020 Tokyo Olympics qualifier.
The national women’s team will be led by Captain Zenatha Coleman, who plies her trade in the Spanish Women’s League for Valencia.
In a statement availed to Nampa on Thursday, Gladiators coach Brian Isaacs expressed satisfaction with the players at his disposal ahead of the game and revelled in the talent and skills of the Namibian women.
“We have the talent and potential to get a score away from home and the players are hyped up and ready to work on Friday. We take it game by game and it is important for us to get to the second round of these qualifiers,” said Isaacs.
He added that Botswana will be tough but his charges have a plan for them.
“They will be coming at us and we need to contain them and use our speed and skills to hurt them. Coleman will be key for us going forward and with free kicks and so, we need to be smart all the time.”
Isaacs said they have a good chance in this fixture and if they play well they can get the desired result, adding the team is expected to rise to the occasion this time around.
Namibia play Botswana over two legs with the first leg away at the National Stadium in Gaborone at 18h00 on Friday, while the return leg is in Windhoek at 18h30 on 09 April at the Sam Nujoma Stadium.
Germany-based Veweziua Kotjipati and Coleman joined the team in Gaborone to complete the 20-player squad coach Isaacs needed for the clash.
The winner over the two legs will face South Africa in the second round. Zambia or Zimbabwe will then await in the third round.
There will be fourth and fifth round, with the winner of the fifth round qualifying for the 2020 Olympic Games and the losers trying their luck against Chile for a place in Tokyo.
The Brave Gladiators in Botswana are Mellissa Matheus, Ester Hamukwaya, Lydia Eixas, Ndapewa Katuta, Emma Naris, Uerikondjera Kasaona, Lovisa Mulunga, Lorraine Jossop, Twelikondjela Amukoto, Veweziua Kotjipati, Millicent Hikuam, Beverly Uueziua, Memory Ngonda, Juliana Blou, Julia Rutjindo, Asteria Angula, Kylie van Wyk, Zenatha Coleman, Thomalina Adams and Anna Marie Shikusho.