Swapo politburo withdraws recall of Rundu councillors

20 Feb 2019 15:00pm
RUNDU, 20 FEB (NAMPA) – The status quo of the Rundu town councillors who were sworn in two weeks ago remains, the Swapo Party Political Bureau (PB) resolved on Tuesday.
This means Isak Kandingu returns as Mayor of Rundu, deputised by Toini Hausiku whilst Anastacia Shinduvi will continue to serve as the chairperson of the management committee.
Swapo Party Secretary General, Sophia Shaningwa withdrew the three councillors after they defied her instruction not to remove former Rundu mayor, Verna Sinimbo.
Sinimbo and her former deputy, Ralf Ihemba, will now serve as ordinary councillors.
Swapo’s secretary for information and mobilisation, Hilma Nikanor issued a statement on Tuesday evening, saying the politburo resolved that the Rundu local authority councillors, as well as the recently sworn in Okahandja councillors, should continue to render service to their respective towns.
Her statement follows Monday’s meeting chaired by President Hage Geingob and other senior officials in the party, which discussed the defiance of the Rundu and Okahandja councillors.
Monday’s meeting was also called after Rundu councillors threatened to take the party to court to challenge the recall.
Nikanor said Swapo is a mass-based political party “born in the crucible of the popular and heroic struggle for national independence”.
“Thus in its quest to foster unity, the party embarked on an engagement through a consultative exercise between the national leadership and the regional and local authority leadership of the Otjozondjupa and Kavango East regions,” she said.
Nikanor explained that the PB met and deliberated on specific issues of the Rundu and Okahandja councils, in particular, the deployment of Swapo councillors in those institutions.
The PB, she further stated, unanimously resolved to delegate senior party leaders to go and engage the party structures and the councillors at the two towns in order to find a lasting solution.