Three to contest RDP president post

18 Feb 2019 17:50pm
WINDHOEK, 18 FEB (NAMPA) – The Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) has confirmed the names of three of its leaders who will be going head-to-head in the race for the vacant party president position.
RDP secretary general Mike Kavekotora and central committee members Miriam Hamutenya and Kandy Nehova have been announced as the three candidates vying for the party pole position.
In a media statement on Monday, RDP secretary for information and publicity, Nghiningiluandubo Kashume said the three were nominated during Saturday’s central committee meeting.
The party also announced that its third ordinary national convention is scheduled to take place between 18 and 21 April 2019, where over 600 delegates from across the country are expected to attend.
Also nominated during the same meeting were candidates for the vice president position, with businessman Kennedy Shekupakela and former parliamentarian Heiko Lucks emerging as the candidates alongside Eino Heelu.
The secretary general race will see City of Windhoek councillor Brunhilde Cornelius square off against Walter Ndakondja, a former school principal and education inspector, and RDP administration and research director, Hidipohamba Sheuyange.
Parliamentarian and long-serving RDP member Agnes Limbo, Phylicia Hercules and Sibuku Malumbano will run for deputy secretary general.