Recalled Rundu town councillors threaten to take Swapo to court

14 Feb 2019 21:20pm
RUNDU, 14 FEB (NAMPA) – The three Rundu Swapo Party councillors who were relieved of their duties on Thursday, have threatened to take the party to the High Court.
The party recalled new mayor Isack Kandingu; his deputy Toini Hausiku and chairperson of the Management Committee, Anastacia Antonio for defying orders to maintain the status quo and for electing a member of the opposition party into the town council’s management committee.
Swapo Secretary General Sophia Shaningwa said in a letter issued through regional coordinator for Kavango, Ottilie Shinduvi that they were being recalled after a decision to that effect was taken by the party’s Political Bureau at its ordinary meeting on 30 January 2019.
The trio through their lawyers, Kadhila Amoomo Legal Practitioners, wrote a letter to Shaningwa on Thursday, alleging that they were recalled without being afforded the opportunity to be heard before the decision was made.
They also demanded that the decision to recall them as councillors be reversed.
“In the absence of the above your aforesaid action is unlawful and stands to be declared invalid, null and void... We now, therefore, demand that you provide an undertaking that you will not persist any further with any action intended to enforce your aforesaid decision,” says the letter.
The trio through their lawyer further demanded that the directive be reversed by 12h00 on Friday.
“Should we not receive the aforesaid undertaking by 12h00 on 15 February 2019, our clients shall approach the High Court for appropriate relief,” the letter said.
The trio voted a councillor of the opposition party, Mathew Wakudumo from the All People’s Party (APP) into the management committee, a decision which did not go down well with the party leadership.
Asked whether she received the letter on Thursday, Shaningwa was reluctant to comment.
“I am not ready to discuss such things,” she said before hanging up.
The three councillors are supposed to be replaced by Sarafina Kandere, Johannes Ngondo and Johanna Kakondo.