Coetzee re-elected as Oranjemund mayor

12 Feb 2019 16:20pm

KEETMANSHOOP, 12 FEB (NAMPA) – Henry Coetzee of the Swapo party was on Monday re-elected as Mayor of Oranjemund, a position he has held since 2012.
In his acceptance speech, Coetzee said in order for the councillors to achieve the set agenda, both councillors and the management need to move in one direction setting aside their political affiliation and personal differences.
“This must be done because local government development requires transformational leadership and strategic interventions to fight against poverty, unemployment and underdevelopment,” he said.
He urged councillors to continue working together despite the challenges the town is facing such as lack of housing-accommodation, land development, sanitation, and unemployment.
“I am convinced that in order to achieve the set agenda we will continuously need the active participation of our communities at all levels,” he added.
Coetzee further called on the private sector, as key partners in development of the southern town, to join the council in the areas of land delivery and housing, municipal infrastructure, commercial and industrial developments.
Agriculture and tourism are also other areas that private sector should assist the council with while contributing towards corporate social responsibility programmes, he said.
The mayor continued: “This be done through sound public private partnerships based on ethical business practices and principles of accountable governance and win-win relationships.”
Coetzee is deputised by Leena Vaille who replaced the late deputy mayor of the town, Martha Ntinda.
Ntinda died in December last year.
Swapo councillor Toivo Auala remains the chairperson of the management committee while Simeon Angombe and Lovis Nghishidimbwa, also from Swapo, joined Auala on the management committee.
Councilor Matheus Kambunga of the Rally for Democracy and Progress remains an ordinary member of the Council.