Normalisation committee will be named by Fifa: Uutoni

16 Jan 2019 13:30pm
WINDHOEK, 16 JAN (NAMPA) - Minister of Sport, Youth and National Service, Erastus Uutoni has repeated his call for calm after the names of people purportedly selected for the Namibia Football Association (NFA) normalisation committee, were published.
The names published by the Namibian Broadcasting Corporation’s Sports Desk are those of Sebastian Kamungu, Vivienne Katjiuongua and Gaby Ahrens.
Speaking to Nampa telephonically on Wednesday, the minister said as far as he is concerned, the normalisation committee names will be revealed by the International Federation of Association Football (FIFA) delegation, which is due back in the country on Thursday.
“Like I said at a press conference last week, the normalisation committee will be named by Fifa. As for the names you just mentioned, I do not know anything about that,” Uutoni said when approached for comment.
Uutoni further stated that continued speculation could jeopardise the process of selecting individuals to run the normalisation committee, saying the names will be made public as soon as all the processes have been completed by Fifa.
The normalisation committee is expected to run the day to day affairs of the NFA until a new Executive Committee (Exco) has been appointed.
It will also organise the elections process that will elect a new NFA executive committee following the expiry of the previous Exco’s term last month.