New Air Namibia board appointed

27 Dec 2018 14:50pm
WINDHOEK, 27 DEC (NAMPA) – National airliner, Air Namibia on Thursday appointed six new board members to serve on a three-year term as from 01 January 2019.
The new board members are Escher Luanda; Heritha Nankole Muyoba; Willy Meretens; Nangula Kauluma; Alois Nyandoro; and Advocate Deidre Sauls.
Making the announcement at their inauguration in the capital on Thursday, Minister of Works and Transport, John Mutorwa said the board should promote tourism and encourage business in Namibia through the airline.
Mutorwa emphasised that the board, during its tenure, should work as an inseparable team and to forget factions, whilst ensuring professionalism and to concentrate on the job at hand.
Reading sections of the board members’ appointment letters to them, Mutorwa said they are expected to uphold the highest levels of integrity and represent the interest of the Namibian State.
He said the board members should acquaint themselves with applicable provisions of government acts, including the airline’s Act, the Public Procurement Act, Public Private Partnerships Act, Civil Aviation Act and the State Act.
The new board is expected to hold its first meeting early next year, where its members will choose the chairperson and vice-chairperson amongst themselves.
The new board replaces Conville Britz, Evelyn Zimba-Naris and Wilhencia Uiras as members, and Gerson Tjihenuna and Florette Nakusera as chairperson and vice chairperson respectively, who served from July 2015 to July 2018.