Kapako wins Kavango West Governor’s Cup

18 Dec 2018 15:30pm
RUNDU, 18 DEC (NAMPA) – The Kapako Constituency football team in the Kavango West Region was on Sunday crowned champions of the Kavango West Governor’s Cup after thrashing Ncuncuni Constituency 5-0 in the final of the second edition of the competition.
Kapako hosted the competition in the Siya village.
The competition is the brainchild of the Kavango West Governor, Sirkka Ausiku in collaboration with the regional football committee.
All eight constituencies in the region participated.
One of the organisers, Egidius Nambara, told Nampa on Tuesday the tournament that was introduced last year is aimed at creating a platform for young footballers and netball players to showcase their talent in hopes of catching the eyes of scouts selecting players for the regional teams.
Kapako walked away with N.dollars 5 000, a floating trophy and gold medals, while Ncuncuni took home N.dollars 3 000 and silver medals.
Third place was taken by the Nkurenkuru Constituency after beating their fierce rivals, Tondoro Constituency, 4-0 to claim N.dollars 2 000 and bronze medals.
In the netball category, Tondoro took the first spot, walking away with N.dollars 2 500, a floating trophy and gold medals.
Ncuncuni also ended as runners-up in the netball category, walking away with N.dollars 1 700 and silver medals, while Nkurenkuru took third place and N.dollars 800 plus bronze medals.
The third edition of the competition will be held in the Mpungu Constituency next year.
Nambara, who is also an executive member of the Kavango West Regional Football Committee, said the competition was a huge success.
He hopes it will continue to grow bigger going forward.
“We managed to select a group of 20 netball players who will be trimmed to 12 players,” said Nambara in view of several regional and national competitions next year.
In football, around 59 players, consisting of under-20 and under-17 players, were selected from which final teams will still be decided on to represent the region at the 2019 The Namibian Newspaper Cup and Scorpion Zinc Cup.