Oshakati Swapo councillors reinstated

12 Dec 2018 08:50am
OSHAKATI, 12 DEC (NAMPA) – The six Swapo members of the Oshakati Town Council were reinstated on Tuesday.
Swapo Secretary-General, Sophia Shaningwa on 26 November recalled the members, reportedly for not following her directive that they elect Onesmus Shilunga as chairperson of the town’s management committee.
The party’s coordinator for the Oshana Region, Samuel Nelongo confirmed their reinstatement Tuesday, saying the party’s executive committee in the region recommended it last week.
“Shaningwa has also agreed, provided that the councillors adhere to her directive,” he said.
Shilunga is Oshakati’s former mayor, but was voted out of the council during the last Regional and Local Authority Election.
He rejoined the council in August this year, replacing Johannes Shilongo, who died in July.
Instead of electing Shilunga as management committee chairperson during their annual election of political office bearers held two weeks ago, Swapo councillors voted for another former mayor of Oshakati, Katrina Shimbulu.
This was regarded as a violation of Shaningwa’s directive which eventually resulted in the recalling of all six Swapo councillors.
The directive was for Shilunga to take over from Gabriel Kamwanka, who has been serving in the position for the past seven years.
Angelus Iiyambo remains mayor and he is still to be deputised by Ndamononghenda Hamunyela, while Shilunga is now the chairperson of the management committee.
Shimbulu was removed on Tuesday but will remain a member of the three-member Oshakati Town Council management committee along with Loise Shivolo.
Kamwanka and Linus Tobias from the Popular Democratic Movement are ordinary members of the council.