Eenhana town mayor demans teamwork

27 Nov 2018 18:50pm
EENHANA, 27 NOV – Eenhana Mayor, Amos Nangolo has called on all members of his town council to team up and continue working together towards achieving common goal of serving the town’s residents.
Nangolo made the call on Tuesday whilst delivering his acceptance speech shortly after members of Eenhana Town Council re-elected him to remain the town’s mayor for the next 12 months.
He also encouraged the leadership of the town to develop Eenhana into a true regional capital of the Ohangwena Region, a preferred destination for business opportunities, tourism and cared environment for residence.
“As I set out on this new task, I would pledge for teamwork, positive relationship with our stakeholders, more hard work, speedy response to the growing demands of our town and proactiveness in dealing with issues facing us in everyday life,” Nangolo told those present.
He then reminded residents of the town that only through prompt payments of rates and taxes by residents and customers will the council be in a position to render quality services and continuously improve service delivery and ultimately improve quality of life of residents.
All members of Eenhana Town Council have been re-elected in their positions. Nangolo is elected mayor of Eenhana for the third consecutive year and is once again deputised by Raija Kaiko.
Former mayor, Julia Shikongo remains the chairperson of the management committee, while Leonard Jona and Eunike Shonena are other members of the three-member management committee.
Six members of the seven-member Eenhana Town Council are from the ruling Swapo Party, while Walter Ndakondja is from the Rally for Democracy and Progress.
Ndakondja and Hosea Andreas are ordinary members of the council. District Magistrate Helvi Shiemba presided over the elections and swearing-in of members of Eenhana Town Council.