Ondonga leader to install new senior councillors

30 Oct 2018 18:50pm
ONGWEDIVA, 30 OCT (NAMPA) – The Ondonga Traditional Authority (OTA), under Omukwaniilwa Immanuel Kauluma Elifas, will officially install five new senior traditional councillors between 03 November and 01 December.
Senior councillor for OTA’s Oniimwandi district and Elifas’ spokesperson, Naeman Amalwa in a statement to Nampa on Tuesday indicated that the new senior councillors will be installed separately in their respective districts.
The new senior councillors to be installed are Naeman Fillemon Kambala (Amuteya district), Paavo Amwele (Ondangwa B district), Erastus Mvula (Ondangwa A district), Nepando Amupanda (Ongula yaNetanga district) and Reinhold Nepolo (Oniiwe district).
Elifas in July last year appointed the said new senior councillors after dismissing Vilho Kamanya (Amuteya district), John Walenga (Ondangwa district), Peter Kauluma (Ongula yaNetanga district) and Joseph Asino (Oniiwe district).
He at the same time divided Ondangwa into two districts.
Kamanya, Walenga, Kauluma, Asino and junior councillors; Kashona kaMalulu, Tonata Ngulu and Fillemon Nambili were dismissed due to alleged gross misconduct.
The councillors have rejected their dismissal, arguing that Elifas is ailing and is no longer fit to take decisions.
They are also engaged in an ongoing case in the High Court at Oshakati demanding that Elifas be called in to testify before court and to confirm that their dismissal was indeed authorised by him.
Approached for comment on Tuesday, one of the dismissed councillors who preferred to remain unnamed, told Nampa that they are aware of the plan to install the new senior councillors officially.
“We have already approached the court to intervene by issuing an urgent interdict preventing installation of new councillors before the case we brought before court is finalised,” the same councillor explained.