All set for 2019 Namibia Sports Awards

27 Oct 2018 15:10pm
WINDHOEK, 27 OCT (NAMPA) – Organisers of the 15th edition of the Namibia Sports Awards say all is set for the event at The Dome in Swakopmund on Saturday.
This is the first time the awards will be held outside Windhoek.
Speaking to Nampa on the side-lines of the event during a dry run of the evening’s proceedings, Freddy Simataa Mwiya, the Chief Administrator of the Namibia Sports Commission said everything is in place for the country’s biggest sporting highlight.
“Everything is going well so far. All the nominees are here and they look excited about tonight’s event. We are looking forward to the event,” he said.
Mwiya was speaking soon after the completion of the parade by athletes which took place from Namib Primary School and ended at The Dome.
Athletes and some members of the public took part.
Mwiya further stated that this year’s awards will be attended by visitors from the Lesotho and Botswana sports commissions, as well as the marketing personnel of the Region Five Department.
“They are here to see how we organise the event and to see how we can hold the Regional Annual Sports Awards next year,” he said.
Mwiya also took time to pay tribute to all Namibian sports men and women, saying they worked extremely hard for the year, hence they should be able to be to enjoy “being celebrities for the night.”
He also paid tribute to various sponsors who made the hosting of the awards possible, saying such sponsors are the ones who make athletes perform their best.
The sports awards are made up of the following categories: MTC Sports Star of the Year; MTC Sportsman of the Year; MTC Sportswoman of the Year; NamPower Sportsman of the Year with a Disability; NamPower Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability, MTC Junior Sportsman of the Year; MTC Junior Sportswoman of the Year; NamPower Junior Sportsman of the Year with a Disability; NamPower Junior Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability; Tafel Lager Sports Team of the Year; Coach of the Year; Umpire/Referee of the Year; The Namibian Sports Journalist of the Year; Development programme of the Year and the Namibia Sports Commission Honorary Award.