Namibian drivers shine at final circuit race of the year

08 Oct 2018 13:50pm
WINDHOEK, 08 OCT (NAMPA) – Windhoek Motor Club (WMC) hosted their final circuit race of the year at the Tony Rust Race Track on Saturday, with Namibian drivers dominating their Angolan counterparts.
The one-day event saw Namibian riders and drivers excelling in front of the local supporters as Allan Martin set a new circuit racing track record for racing clockwise as he clocked one minute, nine seconds, 354 milliseconds (1:09.354) in the Class A category.
This was the first time drivers raced clockwise. The track is always raced on an anticlockwise direction. The old record stood at 01:03:95.
Speaking to Nampa on Sunday, WMC chairperson Richard Slamet said the final circuit race for the year was a success and they are now looking forward to making their relationship with their Angolan counterparts a permanent one.
“This was the first time we had racers from Angola, who gave our drivers a good challenge. We are now going to work on making this partnership a long-term one as it helped both teams in improving their motorsports,” he said.
Slamet added that going forward they will invite competitors from other countries to some of their championships as well to generate more interest.
“The drivers from Angola loved our circuit as they said it’s very challenging. We are now hoping to invite South Africa to one of the races in future so we can have an event where more countries can compete in.”
The winners of the different categories on Saturday are as follows:
Karts-Maxterion: Guido Bidoli, Lo-Andre Bruwer and Jadyn van Zyl finished first, second and third respectively.
Junior Max: Christiaan Liebenberg Jnr
Senior Max: Ivan Voster and Jorg Goldbeck, who finished first and second respectively.
Racing Circuit: Robbie Reschke; Alexander Deysel (Angola) and Matthew Strydom were first, second and third in the Clubman class D category.
In the class E category Nickey Claassens was the only winner, while there were no riders in the Class X category.
Martin, who set a new clockwise track record, was the winner of the Class A category, while class B comprised two Angolan drivers - Mario Ferreira and Luis Fernandes - who finished first and second, while Zachary Martin from team Namibia finished third.
The Class C winners were Marius van Zyl, Michael Strydom and Jaco Nel, while the bike winners are Clifford Steyn, Nazeem Husselman and F Husselman.