BCX team wins the TTT stage of Tour de Windhoek

22 Sep 2018 11:00am
WINDHOEK, 22 SEP (NAMPA) – Team BCX from South Africa finished first during the Team Time Trial (TTT) of the 2018 edition of the Tour de Windhoek on Friday afternoon.
BCX beat another South African team, ProTouch ,who came just 38 seconds behind the winners. BCX finished the event in a time of 25 minutes 13 seconds (25:13) while ProTouch finished behind them in a time of 25:51.
The third position was taken by Hollard from Namibia after they finished the race in a time of 27:15 but in the overall team standing Luso AC DC, also from South Africa, are currently ranked third despite them finishing fourth in the TTT with a time of 27:19.
Their overall results from the two events, which was the road race in the morning and the TTT in the afternoon, puts them third on the overall standing behind BCX and ProTouch respectively.
In the overall standing Hollard are ranked fourth.
In the Tour de Light, team Jaguar won the TTT in a time of 33:12, while Pupkewitz Ladies finished second with a time of 33:42 but RR Importers, who were 48 seconds behind the winners in a time of 34:00, finished third and are ranked second in the overall team standing.
The Tour de Windhoek , which covers over 400 kilometres of racing, returned this year after it was revived last year following an eight-year hiatus.
The event started Friday and ends Sunday.