Nationwide First Division play-off dates set

17 Sep 2018 14:00pm
REHOBOTH, 17 SEP (NAMPA) – The dates and venues for the Nationwide First Division promotion play-offs are set for the three national first divisions which will hold play-offs to determine the teams to be promoted to the respective streams.
In a communique seen by Nampa and addressed to all affected members, the North East First Division (NEFD) will have their matches this coming weekend at the Omulunga Stadium in Grootfontein. The matches for North West First Division (NWFD) and Southern Stream First Division (SSFD) are slated for 29 to 30 September at Outjo Sport Stadium and Mariental Sports Ground respectively.
The fixtures will be communicated in due course.
For the NWFD, Fresh United (Omusati), Outjo Football Academy (Kunene), Okakarara Young Warriors (Otjozondjupa) and Golden Bigs (Oshana) as regional winners will vie for the two spots. In the SSFD, Hardap Correctional Facility (Hardap), Dates Eleven (||Kharas), Tura Cosmos (Omaheke), Eleven Champions (Khomas) and Swakopmund Football Club (Erongo) will play out for three spots in the league for next season.
Former Namibia Premier League (NPL) outfit, Young Chiefs that were relegated at the end of the 2016/2017 season will play in the NWFD.
The NEFD play-offs will consist of Bush Bucks (Zambezi), Eshoke Chula Chula (Ohangwena), Young Western Fighters (Kavango West), Shafile United (Oshikoto) and Kantema Bullets (Kavango East) that will play for two spots.
Meanwhile, Chief Santos and Rundu Chiefs will take up their places in the NEFD after their relegation from the NPL last season.