Six new ambassadors present credentials to Geingob

14 Sep 2018 17:20pm
WINDHOEK, 14 SEP (NAMPA) – Six new ambassadors presented their credentials to President Hage Geingob at State House on Friday.
Geingob encouraged the ambassadors to continue where their predecessors left off.
Spain’s Ambassador to Namibia, Javier Romera Pintor announced that his first trip around the country will be in two weeks.
“I will inaugurate and assist with the opening of the asparagus factory in northern Namibia,” he said.
The asparagus project is a 10-year partnership between the Ministry of Agriculture, Water and Forestry and Spanish company, Industrias Alimentarias de Navarra, signed in October 2017.
Pintor also pledged to further strengthen and deepen Spain and Namibia’s relationship in the agriculture and tourism sectors.
The United Arab Emirates’ non-resident ambassador to Namibia, Mahash Almameil said Namibia is one of the countries with which his country needs to improve bilateral ties.
“The important areas that we need to strengthen are trade, security and capacity-building for Namibians,” he explained.
He added that there will be a lot of high level discussions between the two countries.
Benin’s Ambassador, Eric Franeck Michel Saizonou is the first diplomat from his country designated to Namibia.
The non-resident ambassador said Namibia and Benin signed several agreements in 2003 during a state visit by former President Sam Nujoma to Benin. The agreements, that were however not implemented, include the establishment of cooperation at a diplomatic level, cooperation in science and education and the establishment of a joint committee that would monitor the various forms of cooperation.
“The first thing I intend to do is to have them implemented as soon as we can,” Saizonou said.
He added that his government already has a plan in action that he will propose to the Namibian government as soon as he returns to his office in Pretoria, South Africa.
“We have discovered a lot in this country in terms of managing politics and we are also keen on learning about tourism from Namibia,” he noted.
Non-resident ambassadors from Sao Tome and Principe (Carlos Gustavo dos Anjos); the Netherlands (Johannes Petrus Maria Peters) and Austria (Johann Brieger) also presented their letters of credence and the letters of recall of their predecessors.