Brave Gladiators off to SA for Cosafa Women’s Championship

10 Sep 2018 15:40pm
WINDHOEK, 10 SEP (NAMPA) – The Brave Gladiators left for Port Elizabeth, South Africa on Monday to participate in the 2018 Council of Southern African Football Associations (Cosafa) Women’s Championship.
The team was seen off at Football House by the Chief Administrator of the Namibia Sports Commission, Freddy Simataa Mwiya.
He called on the team to represent the country with pride and honour.
“Having you represent our country at the Cosafa Women’s Championships makes us proud as you will be able to market our country and the girl child. Go and show the people out there that Namibia gives opportunities to the girl child,” Mwiya said.
He added that the Gladiators have the potential to challenge for honours, saying the team must know that other countries also prepared well, hence the need to go beyond the call of duty and to fight until the end.
Mwiya said the team must emulate their male counterparts by representing the country with pride.
“Go as ambassadors of Namibia. Not everyone gets a chance to represent the country. We have so many girls playing football, but only a limited number is selected to represent the country.”
Mwiya further accorded the team national colours by symbolically handing over the national flag, as well as certificates of participation.
Director of Disability Sports in the Ministry of Sports, Youth and National Service, Jo-Anne Manuel had words of advice for the team, saying they must represent the country diligently and show respectful and sportswoman-like behaviour at all times.
Namibia are in Group C alongside Zimbabwe, Swaziland and East African guest nation Uganda.
Namibia finished at the bottom of their group in the last tournament in Zimbabwe in 2017, with victory over Botswana (4-0), but defeats to South Africa (1-3) and Lesotho (1-2).
Their first match at the 2018 tournament is against Zimbabwe on Thursday.
Namibia’s squad is as follows:
Mellissa Matheus, Lydia Eixas, Anna Shaende, Iina Ndapewa Katuta, Kamunikire Tjituka, Emma Naris, Stacey Naris, Sharon Pieters, Lydiana Nanamus, Lovisa Mulunga, Twelikondjela Amukoto, Elmarie Fredericks, Millicent Hikuam, Beverly Uueziua, Memory Ngonda, Juliana Blou, Shanice Daries, Kylie van Wyk, Ivone Kooper and Thomalina Adams.
Anna Marie Shikusho, Fiola Vliete and Veronica van Wyk are on standby.