Cricket Namibia to take part in T20 2018 Africa Cup

22 Aug 2018 16:40pm
REHOBOTH, 22 AUG (NAMPA) – Cricket Namibia has announced its participation in the fourth edition of the Africa T20 Cup 2018/2019 season, scheduled to take place from 14 to 24 September in East London, South Africa.
In a press release issued on Wednesday, Cricket Namibia said the tournament organised by Cricket South Africa to kick-start the domestic cricket season, has seen 20 teams, including 13 South African provincial teams, as well as national representative sides from Kenya, Namibia, Ghana, Nigeria and Zimbabwe taking part.
Limpopo and Mpumalanga are also taking part in this year’s edition, compared to the total 16 of last year.
The tournament structure is divided into four pools of which each pool comprises five teams; meaning 10 matches will be played per pool.
The format of the tournament has also been amended, as the previous season saw the entire preliminary round being played over one weekend.
In this edition, to cater for increased participating teams, four venues will be utilised; the main oval and an auxiliary field that are in close proximity to each other.
Namibia is in Pool C along with Border, Eastern Province, Kenya and Mpumalanga. Pool C’s preliminary round will take place in East London.
Namibia will face Mpumalanga on 14 September, Eastern Province on 15 September and will then tackle Border later on the same day 13h30 to 16h40, before completing their pool matches against Kenya on 16 September.
The semi-finals will take place on 23 September, with the final set to take place on 24 September.
The Namibian team is as follows: Stephen Baard, Lohandre Louwrens, Michiel Du Preez, Jan Frylinck, Zane Green, Bernard Scholtz, Colin Peake, Johannes Smit, Tangeni Lungameni, Nikolaas Davin, Christopher Coombe, Nicol Loftie-Eaton, Gerhard Erasmus, Dayanand Thakur (Coach), Gareth Cloete (Assistant Coach).