Thomas, Johannes win last leg of Old Mutual Victory Race

19 Aug 2018 14:00pm
WINDHOEK, 19 AUG (NAMPA) – Reinhold Thomas and Helalia Johannes won the men’s and women’s category of the 21 kilometre (km) Old Mutual Victory Race here on Saturday.
Thomas won what was the final leg of the race series in a time of one hour, eight minutes and 31 seconds (01:08:30), while Commonwealth Games marathon gold medallist Johannes finished the race in a time of 01:14:35.
Thomas was followed by Shaliaxwe Jeremia in second place and Kondjashili Kefas in third.
Johannes was followed by Lavinia Haitope and Leena Ekandjo in second and third place respectively.
In the 10 km races Daniel Paulus beat Simon Paulus and Ella Uugwanga to win the event, while Ester Haitope beat Victoria Kaliteka and Elizabeth Shivute.
Thomas and Johannes also won the first leg of the Victory Race series earlier this year.
This makes them the favourites to be named the overall winners of the 2018 edition of the series.
Mynhardt Kauanivi and Sophia Nambambi won the second leg of the Old Mutual Victory Race that took place at Keetmanshoop in the //Kharas Region last month.
Kefas Kondjashili and Josephine Dumeni won the third leg in Oshakati, also last month.
The overall winners of the 18th edition of the Old Mutual Victory Race series will be announced soon.