Otjiwarongo town junior councillors inaugurated

10 Aug 2018 07:00am
OTJIWARONGO, 10 AUG (NAMPA) - The nine junior councillors of Otjiwarongo were on Thursday sworn in by town mayor Bennes Haimbondi at the municipality council chambers.
The two girls and seven boys from Otjiwarongo schools were sworn in in the presence of their parents, principals and teachers.
Ediziliah Aikanga from Monica Geingos Junior Secondary School was elected junior mayor by her fellow junior councillors. She is deputised by Cipriano Sirongo of Paresis Senior Secondary School (SSS).
Elizabeth Nekongo of Donatus SSS was elected junior secretary and Erickson Joseph of Monica Geingos Junior Secondary School as deputy junior secretary, while Nico Epler (Otjiwarongo SSS) is the junior town treasurer and Simon Tsauseb, also from Donatus, is junior deputy treasurer.
Louis Mouton of Edugate Academy Private School is the junior public relations officer, while Benge Shikongo of Paresis SSS and Jacob Shindombe of Otjiwarongo SSS are junior sports officers.
Haimbondi said the junior councillors are expected to represent the young people of Otjiwarongo and address issues affecting them.
They will also act as a link between the municipality and learners and must ensure that learners become acquainted with the civic affairs of the municipality.
“Issues such as teenage pregnancies, alcohol and drug abuse and school dropouts affect a lot of young people and we would really appreciate any contribution from you on how we should deal with these problems,” Haimbondi said. He called on the junior councillors to become role models for young people in Otjiwarongo.
They junior councillors took oaths to serve the town with dedication during the 12 months in their positions.